Archive for July 7, 2009

The Eternal Drinking Temptation

Over the fourth weekend my fiance, Jamie and I went up to South Haven Michigan to be with her extended family. Her aunt and uncle have a beautiful house on Lake Michigan up there. Her family is very close and a lot of fun. We laughed all weekend long.

On Independence Day Jamie’s two uncles, her brother-in-law, and her barely-underage twin cousins started throwing back beers in the early afternoon. After spending some time at the beech, the holiday festivities moved to the hot tub in the back yard. Classic rock blared from the iPod as the men continued to pound ’em amidst the bubbly foam in the tub.

I was the only male conspicuously missing from the hot tub party. I was sitting amongst the women laughing at the crazy conversations the guys were having. Finally, they coaxed me into the water. As I lowered myself in, the water spilled over the sides. The tub had exceeded capacity. Jamie’s uncle Marcus, a guy known for his quick wit and his ability to turn every family function into a raucous free-for-all told a story about rubbing elbows with a world famous musician. Marcus traveled in elite circles because of his family fortune. In the short time I’ve known him, he has boarded a private jet to the ’08 Final Four, and has met President Obama. I wasn’t about to dismiss his latest tale as hearsay despite his drunken state.

“You know, I played tennis against the great Yitzhak Perlman. Yeah, I mopped the court with him!” There was a pause and then billows of loud laughter filled the yard. Pearlman happens to be handicapped and confined to a wheel chair. Despite its crass nature, the joke went over well and it was vintage Marcus. Then Neal Diamond’s “Sweet Caroline” blasted from the speakers. Someone in the tub called Diamond the Jewish Elvis and everyone busted into their rendition of the classic song. The lyrics echoed through the entire subdivision, the guys were having a great time. I smiled and hummed along. I kept wondering how I would have related had I shared their blood alcohol levels. They kept offering me beers and I kept turning them down, all the while envisioning myself as drunk and happy as they were.

The doctors said that I had no alcohol dependency when they were diagnosing my illness. Does that mean I’m in the clear? Can I have a few beers on occasion? They always warned me that alcohol in any amount could disrupt my stability. The temptation will always be there. This is something I have to live with. The difficult part will be remaining sober at our wedding in December. After the booze fest that was July 4th, I’m not so sure I want to be the sober one forever.

Drinking Games

I think about drinking at least once a week. Mostly when I’m out with Jamie and friends on weekends. Alcohol use has become so commonplace in our society that it is assumed everyone drinks, at least a little. I used to drink a lot. I wouldn’t say that I ever had a drinking problem, but I was definitely a binge drinker throughout high school and much of college. I did it because it made me feel good and assisted me with some of my social insecurities. Drinking was so embedded into the high school and college culture that I never thought twice about it.

After being diagnosed with Schizoaffective Disorder, more than a few doctors told me that using recreational drugs or alcohol could cause symptoms to resurface. So I completely cut drinking out of my life. Do I miss it? A lot! But as of now I am managing okay without it.

Jamie asks me quite frequently if I’ll have a drink with her. She likes to unwind with a glass of wine when we are out to dinner. I’ve never sen Jamie out of control drunk, but I do see her slip into a more relax state after several cocktails. I explained to her that I don’t drink because it could disrupt my stability. I’ve told her that mixing alcohol with the medication I’m on could be a problem. She understands my situation but I know she would really enjoy getting a little tipsy with me. After all, drinking is fun, that’s why so many people my age do it.

It becomes a little more uncomfortable when I have to explain to a friend that I don’t drink. “At all?” Is their question. “Not really,” I say. I always include that ‘really’ in my response to lesson the shock on my peers that they’ve acutally met a young, seemingly healthy guy who doesn’t put down the occasional Miller Light. Actually, my beer of choice was Blue Moon when I started drinking again a couple of summers ago.

I was single at the time, so was my brother and a roommate of ours in our Lincoln Square apartment. We started having bachelors’ nights when we’d go to the bars, get plastered and try to pick up women. We were all successful on both fronts, drinking until we lost all inhibitions, and scoring with nice looking young women. I kept it up for more than a month. We’d often go out three nights a week. I remember consulting my older brother at the time. He was a Psychology major in college and has expansive knowledge about the various functions of the brain. “If you do it in moderation, you’ll be fine,” he said. “Well what’s moderation?” I asked. “Just don’t abuse it, do it to have a good time.” And that was the green light I needed, it became my justification for getting drunk. At the same time, the doctor was adjusting my medication, trying to find the lowest effective dose. The drinking and the med change were recipes for disaster. I’m not going to lie, those days in September of ’07 were some of the best times of my life, but they became dangerous very quickly.

First I had trouble sleeping, then I started hearing voices and experiencing hallucinations. I quickly stopped drinking and the doctor increased the medication. I don’t know if the symptoms manifested because of the med change or my late night benders, probably, it was a combination of both. I still think about returning to my drinking days but I know if I start with a beer to unwind, it will lead to five and eventually all out drunkenness.